On Camera Light -Hahnel Compact Opto 35

Amongst a box of assorted video junk, I aquired a Hahnel Compact Opto 35, which is a funny little on camera light setup. I've never used an on camera light before and I'm wondering what the effect will be like, and if it will basically be horrible.

The light consists of a big lens with a 35w halogen bulb behined it.

It's kind of an interesting light, but It presently needs either new battery cells or a new halogen bulb or both! As a resuly I'm eyeing to gut it and use it for parts for a DIY LED light made from various bits of junk. Maybe I shouldn't tho and should try to get it working but...

Anybody used one or something similar and have opinions?

love

Freya

• Premium Member

I just brought one home to give it a home myself. In truth; they're generally what you'd see at night on reportage, but can also serve as a nice and simple eye-light (which is what I indend to do with mine.. as it has a dimmer) dimmed down with some diffusion on it just to give a pop in close ups ect.

It also can be used as an obie- though you'd need to really get it "bigger," for a good effect.

Like all lights, on it's own, it's Meh, but once you work it into an overall lighting scheme these little on camera lights can be quite useful.

Also as mine is 12vcd; it also works as a nice flashlight at night when I'm camping and forger to unload my block batteries.

I just brought one home to give it a home myself. In truth; they're generally what you'd see at night on reportage, but can also serve as a nice and simple eye-light (which is what I indend to do with mine.. as it has a dimmer) dimmed down with some diffusion on it just to give a pop in close ups ect.

It also can be used as an obie- though you'd need to really get it "bigger," for a good effect.

Like all lights, on it's own, it's Meh, but once you work it into an overall lighting scheme these little on camera lights can be quite useful.