Correct Exposure for Canon 814 AZ

Matt Hira

Hello! As a DSLR filmmaker, I became very curious with the process (and magic) of real film. I just received a Canon 814 Auto Zoom today and two (pricy) cartridges ofmzektachrome 100D. I quickly learned the button batteries for the light meter are no longer produced for environmental reasons. To overcome this, I have a plan but would really like some questions answered. I would hate to ruin a bunch of film just guessing when there are talented people who know exactly what to do.

1. When I switch the EE between manual and auto nothing changes and I can move the C O dial and needle in both modes. Is this normal?

2. When I change the aperture in manual mode, there's no noise or indication that the aperture is changing except the moving needle. If you're physically changing the iris, wouldn't it make a noise or something?

3. Instead of the 1.3 V mercury batteries, I inserted 1.5 V alkalines instead. When I press battery check button for the AAs it reports correctly but doesn't recognize the buttons. Does that mean manual exposure isn't working?

4. To compensate for the over voltage on the light meter, I planned on using a DSLR to gauge the light and set aperture based on it's reading. On Ektachrome 100D would the orrect DSLR setting be ISO: 100 Tv: 1/60 (at 24fps) and see what aperture it spits out and set the super 8 to that?

Sorry these may seem like stupid questions, but I litteraly just got the camera today and have been reading all I can about super 8! Yeah, DSLR rules, but something about super 8 is so awesome! Thanks in advance!

• Premium Member

1. When I switch the EE between manual and auto nothing changes and I can move the C O dial and needle in both modes. Is this normal?

I think on that camera you need to move the exposure dial all the way to the bottom and it kind of clicks into place for the auto mode, otherwise you'll override the auto functions. In manual, it's set wherever the dial is.