How to become a DP

Hamilton Yu

I'm currently studying film at NYU with a concentration in cinematography. I am very serious and passionate about it but I'm just not sure how I go down the path.

My end goal would be to be a feature and commercial DP and I understand that it will take time and I am ready to work my way up but how do I get there?

Right now I'm just shooting/gaffing/AC projects for others at Tisch and looking for freelance jobs and fashion films. Should I be working to join the Local 600 union? If so, as what? 1st AC?

Does anyone have tips on getting more jobs?

Finally, does anyone have any advice as to what equipment I should get. Currently, I have a DSLR with lenses, a shoulder rig, follow focus, and an 8" monitor.

Thanks a lot for your answers

It always baffles me when kids at the "elite" film schools come on here and ask these questions. I mean you are at the NYU Film School, and none of your professors have ideas with regard to how to answer this question?

R,

Oh BTW, there is very little crossover between DOPs that shoot commercials and those that shoot feature films.

It always baffles me when kids at the "elite" film schools come on here and ask these questions. I mean you are at the NYU Film School, and none of your professors have ideas with regard to how to answer this question?

R,

Oh BTW, there is very little crossover between DOPs that shoot commercials and those that shoot feature films.

Thanks Richard. Very helpful.

• Premium Member

Simplest way is you keep working. You work and you work. No union unless you like spending money for not much. When the time comes to go union you'll have plenty of days for it, one would hope, and then you can join as a DoP.

For most I would say we shot when we got out of school, as much as we could, whatever we could. And we would take other jobs as needed to cover bills as well.