Data Wrangling with a MacBook Pro... eSATA via Thunderbolt?

Hi,

I'm primarily an Editor dabbling in motion graphics. I'm wanting more on-set work and have been offered the opportunity to do some AC and data wrangling on a local short in Leeds.

I'll be using a MacBook Pro 15" (late 2011) 2.5GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM.

Shooting RED scarlet and backing up on two G-DRIVE's - Yet to have confrimation whether or not the drives have eSATA.

As my mac has one FireWire 800 port and one Thunderbolt, I'll be running into some problems on the way in working out how fast I can transfer data on the budget I have.

I've heard and read of the problems of trying to daisy chain two FW800 drives and a RED station, all through one little FW port. I've also read a lot of positive things about the Sonnet Echo Pro Thunderbolt adapter. http://www.sonnettech.com/product/echoexpresscard34thunderbolt.html

I'm hoping to get the eSATA extension, but if the G-DRIVE's are not compatible the FW800 will do for now.

For £250 I'm wondering if this is the best option I have for transferring data as quickly as possible, while linking two G-DRIVE's through one eSATA and using the second eSATA for the RED station?

Thank you.

Luke Wheldon.

I've just read that eSATA cannot be daisy chained. Duh.

How well would the set up work if the eSATA drives each had they're own port and then I used the FW800 for the RED station? Or one eSATA for one G-DRIVE and the other for the RED station... then the FW800 for the second G-DRIVE?

Thanks.

• Premium Member

I've tried to use Red cameras twice and on both occasions had problems getting the red card reader to work via anything other than USB. Which is part of why we avoid red. But I digress.

My approach is to try and keep things on private buses as much as possible, and I'd prefer to have symmetrical performance from the hard disks. You will need some sort of software to do a double copy and checksum compare for real reliability.