Best camera for a documentary?

Adam Symes

Hi, I am a filmmaker by trade and intend to shoot a cinema documentary next month and I am investigating a good camera to use.

Preferably it would be cinema quality off the bat, so no up-res prior to DCP.

Any suggestions would be hugely appreciated.

Adam

• Premium Member

I think that all depends on what kind of money you're wanting to spend either on rentals or purchases, as well as what type of shooting you're planning on doing. There are many differing forms of documentary-- and there is a huge environmental factor-- which means no single camera system is the best to pick.

That's a fair assessment of the situation. Expenses - minimal if possible. Focus; Feature Film Mockumentary, just seeking aspects of perspectives.

Frankly I'd love a 2k camera, but without looking at RED, Arri, the upcoming 2.5k blackmagic I'm not too sure.

There is no single God among cameras. You need to choose as per need and budget. If you are looking at fast set up times, less of frankenstein rigs, low light sensitivity then you should go for Canon C300/C100. However, they are 1080p and not 2k.

I had wanted to pick up the blackmagic version 1.0 but you can't shoot fine patterns. No idea about the quality of the BMC pocket camera. It is cheap though. The BMC needs rigs and a pre-amp like a juicedLink so that you can record audio. If you have the budget for double sound then that won't be an issue. It would be good if you rent/borrow and test the cameras before deciding the camera based on your needs.

• Premium Member

There are very few 2K cameras out there-- most are 1080p. For 2K you're looking at the Black Magic Cinema Camera (2.5K)-- though I would personally go with the 4K or the Pocket- both are shipping and I prefer the flexibility of the pocket camera. Of course the audio on them suck-- but if you're doing double system it's of little worry.