Ursa upgrade question

Philip Kral

This is perhaps a stupid question, but I'm not an electrical engineer nor a computer programmer so I was hoping perhaps someone on here can shine some light on this. The new Black Magic Ursa's selling point is that it's going to be upgradable so it will (theoretically) never go obsolete. I know the sensor can be changed out. For example, if some day 6K becomes the next "big thing", many people assume you're just going to be able to purchase a 6k sensor for an upgrade.

But is it really that simple? I would imagine if you upgrade the sensor, you would have to upgrade the processing power for the upgraded resolution and I see nothing mentioned about that. Any thoughts? It sounds too good to be true, as It reminds me of another company that promised a modular upgrade system that never ended up that way.

• Premium Member

I am no camera expert, by any means, but I am involved in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering so I hope that qualifies me to speak on the subject :D

Using a modular approach, there should be no reason why the design wouldn't work. The key to it though is making sure you design the parts in such a way that they are completely independent (although they obviously are inter-dependent on each other to work)