help, metal spring belts for Mitchell?

phil hastings

I'm in the middle of shooting an animation project and my Mitchell GC's metal spring has sprung. It is still in one piece, but has developed a kink. I don't know how this happend, maybe when putting it on or taking it off the magazine's wheel. First question, will the kink be a cause of slippage affecting the exposture time or timing in any way or will it just be noisy? I have limited knowledge of the Mitchell as this is my first project with one. Two, should I be in the market for a replacement? I can not be down to long as I am on a tight schedule right now. Three, any leads on where to find replacement belts and would a rubber or other material be better then the metal springs?

thanks

phil

• Premium Member
I'm in the middle of shooting an animation project and my Mitchell GC's metal spring has sprung. It is still in one piece, but has developed a kink. I don't know how this happend, maybe when putting it on or taking it off the magazine's wheel. First question, will the kink be a cause of slippage affecting the exposture time or timing in any way or will it just be noisy? I have limited knowledge of the Mitchell as this is my first project with one. Two, should I be in the market for a replacement? I can not be down to long as I am on a tight schedule right now. Three, any leads on where to find replacement belts and would a rubber or other material be better then the metal springs?

thanks

phil

Phil,

A damaged belt COULD effect exposures. You could make one out of leather as original. However most people use the spring ones. Try www.frieseng.com (Its no longer Doug Fries) the guys who used to work there can sell you a new one. The contact info still works.

Stephen Williams DP

Zurich

www.stephenw.com

• Premium Member