A slightly amateurish question on lenses...

Nguyen D. Nguyen

I'm a bit of a rookie when it comes to the arri 2c (though doing a lot of research on it). My question was about the lens mount on the 2c. I know it can be converted to a PL mount, but as for the turret, what types of lenses will fit on them? Are they readily available anywhere?

Suggestions? Resources? Opinions?

• Premium Member

I think to convert it to a PL-mount, you'd be disabling the 3-lens turret feature, permanently probably. I'm not sure, but I believe the turret uses Arri Standard mounts, so you'd have to buy old (smaller) lenses with that mount if you still want to use the turret.

Basically Arri cameras and lenses had (1) Arri Standard, then (2) Arri Bayonet, then (3) Arri PL (Positive Lock) mounts, each bigger and sturdier than the last to handle bigger & heavier lenses like zooms.

I think to convert it to a PL-mount, you'd be disabling the 3-lens turret feature, permanently probably.  I'm not sure, but I believe the turret uses Arri Standard mounts, so you'd have to buy old (smaller) lenses with that mount if you still want to use the turret.

Basically Arri cameras and lenses had (1) Arri Standard, then (2) Arri Bayonet, then (3) Arri PL (Positive Lock) mounts, each bigger and sturdier than the last to handle bigger & heavier lenses like zooms.

Thanks for the information, David. Are there any specific advantages to using lenses of certain mounts, and the Arri Standard lenses ... are they plentiful or have they gone near-completely obsolete?

• Premium Member

All modern lenses come in PL mounts: Zeiss Master Primes and Zoom, Ultra Primes, Super Speeds, Cooke S4s and Zooms, Angénieux Zooms, Hawk Anamorphics, Elite Anamorphics, etc... If you want good glass you need a PL mount.

Early turret models were 3 Std mounts, later they had 1 Bayo mt and 2 Std - those cameras were properly called 35IIC/B - just like the 16mm cameras with one bayo on the turret (16S/B; 16M/B).