Worklights + Chinaball for comedy lighting

Hey guys,

I am shooting a short comedy film for class, and was hoping for some suggestions with my setup! Mind you, I am very new to all this.

Since it is a comedy, I was planning on using a lot of soft light. I have a few softboxes, a few umbrella lights, and a few chinaballs.

The setup I was planning on running, was two 1000 Lumen LED worklights for my background (with orange or blue gel depending on the scene)

and a chinaball with orange or blue gel with a 105W CFL (600W equivalent) in front of my actor. If necessary, I would use a white reflector to fill the shadows on my actors face.

The reason I want to use worklights if possible, is that they are MUCH easier to gel. I have heard they run a little bit green, and have spikes in their color charts, but will that really affect me in a real life situation? The two backlights I use would probably have different hues of the same color, ie. frost blue and full blue CTB

Thank you all for the help! I look forward to learning with you!

Both the CFL and the LEDs could have green spikes, however there are some good CFLs for daylight available at B&H. I think Lowel makes one with a high wattage.

As for the green on the worklights, you can add a pale sheet of minusgreen gel to compensate. The minusgreen is magenta in color, but I wouldn't use full minusgreen. Most likely that would be too much, just 1/8 or 1/4. This is assuming that your worklights actually do run a little green.

• Premium Member

The problem with LEDs, and even modern fluorescent, isn't often green spikes. There may be serious problems with the output, certainly, but it isn't necessarily, or even often, a preponderance of green. LEDs are often deficient in red and teal colours and modern warm-white fluorescents often look yellowish on camera.