Car Interior at Night

Hi,

I'm a film student and I'm shooting a short road movie, the majority of which takes place at night. I need some suggestions about how to light the interior of the car for night. The scenes only involve actors in the driver and passenger seats. I will be front towing and using a hood mount and hostess tray (which is all I can afford). The car is a Volvo station wagon (the back seats fold down), and I will be shooting on Vision2 500t (unless someone recommends otherwise). Thanks for any help or suggestions you can provide.

Matt Serrins

Matthew_Serrins@brown.edu

One approach is to rent from a grip and lighting house a 12volt to 110v power inverter that can run off the car battery from either the picture, tow car or both. It s been awhile but I believe they come as hgh 2500w. What is the back-ground, city, country? If it is to City, at 500 asa You'll get mayb T1.4. or 2 so match to that. Country you'll get black. The best look, generally is for the interior to go in and out of light. The most difficult but do-ible is to rent from u-haul a roof carrier and find a way to secure speed rail to the rack. Have two pipes run front to back and two side to side. Make them long enough two overhang.To your lighting grid attach small fresnels such as 200w peppers that run to small hand dimmers whitch you and an assistant can fade in and out from the tow car. take careful readings and mark your dimmers. To the lights you can attach diffusion and color for effect. There are also car kitts that kino-flow Makes that will give you lighting from in the car. If you can keep the wats low you can also get Cigerate lighter adapters. It depnds on how ambitious you are and the dough of coarse. And remember Safety, safety, safety.