Beaulieu 4008 ZMII battery trouble.

Hey!

So I am really excited because I got my grandads BEAulieu 4008 ZMII for Christmas. The thing is that it hasnt been used in 15 years. He took great care of it but the batteries are not in great shape. Does anybody now about where and how to get new batteries? Or any good servicing in London as well to look over it?

Any help will be appreciated. I have shot a ton on a Bolex but I'm new to 16mm!

x

Hey!

So I am really excited because I got my grandads BEAulieu 4008 ZMII for Christmas. The thing is that it hasnt been used in 15 years. He took great care of it but the batteries are not in great shape. Does anybody now about where and how to get new batteries? Or any good servicing in London as well to look over it?

x

Hello Camille , Not a cheap thing to replace , 1/ can get the old batteries recelled ,

2/ Wittner Film gmbh , get a new one ,

also maybe the camera needs to be CLA as thats a long time not in use ,

C

Hey!

x

If it needs to be serviced it's best to send it to Bjorn Anderson in Sweeden which is not so bad at the moment as the UK is still in the EU. You might get lucky and find that it works okay tho. I would start by testing it at low speeds like 9fps or 18fps. Be wary of going to the higher speeds especially without a cart in there.

Batteries can be re-celled so don't throw them out! They can also be used to make battery adaptors.

New batteries and stuff can be had from bjorn and from Wittner in Germany too. Not cheap I'm afraid.

Beaulieu 4008 is a great camera tho!!!

Freya

Hey!

x

Er, you still are. The 4008 is Super-8.

I don't think there are any plans to prohibit postage to Sweden in the event of UK withdrawal from the EU

I don't think there are any plans for anything in the event of a UK withdrawl from the EU.

Okay Nicola Sturgeon might have something in mind...

I think Mr Cameron will just be like "oops!"