Investing In Super 8 Camera??

Hi!

I am a student filmmaker looking to shoot some experimental films with a super 8. I've been eyeing a couple of Canon 814 xl-s and zooms. Because these cameras are so old, are there a lot of chances for mold in the lens? Also, are there any other good affordable super 8 cameras for a film student? Keep in mind I'm a freshman in college so anything more than $120 would considerably put a dent in my wallet.

Thanks for taking the time to read this!

• Premium Member

Nah, just get one and shoot.

The 814 is a fine camera.

So are the Nizo's, and Nikons, Beaulieus, Kodaks, and all those other brands are ok too.

If you want to spend the money, you'll likely get a decent one.

If you want to not spend money, then buy them for cheap ($10) and see if they work, if not... toss and get another cheap one.

• Upvote 1

Follow up question, I notice that in many eBay postings the automatic zoom or exposure systems do not work. But most of these cameras have manual zoom and exposure systems correct? So the automatic components shouldn't be a big deal right?

Nah, just get one and shoot.

The 814 is a fine camera.

So are the Nizo's, and Nikons, Beaulieus, Kodaks, and all those other brands are ok too.

Yes, I understand that. But I understand that many of the super 8 cameras have different fixed lenses in which I cannot replace. So shouldn't I mind the camera with a better lens or does it not matter as much in super 8 than digital

• Premium Member