I was asked to send in a resume and a reel for a job recently. I have no professional experience but have made films on my own time. Advice on what to

To put in a little more detail, I have been making films on my own for almost four years now. They're mostly shorts I made with friends. Some good, some not. But I do feel like I have enough to put together a decent reel.

Now, what about the resume? I've only worked random retail or warehouse jobs. I've never been on a real film set. I feel like they'll barely look at it.

Any advice would be great

To put in a little more detail, I have been making films on my own for almost four years now. They're mostly shorts I made with friends. Some good, some not. But I do feel like I have enough to put together a decent reel.

Now, what about the resume? I've only worked random retail or warehouse jobs. I've never been on a real film set. I feel like they'll barely look at it.

Any advice would be great

If you're apply for a job on a film, they want to know your relevant industry experience - not how much experience you have flipping burgers. One of the biggest resume mistakes is including non-relevant work experience on a resume. This hold's true for all professional positions, not just the film industry.

If you have made your own stuff in the past, even shorts - put that experience down, as well as what job you did on each short. Might help to give information about where a screener can be obtained if you're applying for a more creative position.

If your industry experience is really daft, you can make a seperate resume section called 'non-relevant experience', but for heaven's sake don't boggle it down with every menial job you have ever had. Maybe 2 of the most 'major' and 'important' jobs you have had.

Edited by Landon D. Parks