Underwater Videography

I live within ontario, Canada.

I am currently with iatse 873 as an electric permit.

However, I want to be working as an underwater videographer.

The camera union is 667.

But im wondering, do I need to go through the union, with the very long training process in order to be an underwater videographer?

Or is there a way to work as freelance and be able to work, on special gigs on the union?

I'm studying in school, and I'm doing lots of diving (marine biology), and I like filming. So I'd like to combine both... I have done this before, but not to this extent.

• Premium Member

Ya know, I use to teach scuba diving, I've dove all over the country from the pacific to the atlantic and many lakes in between. I've taught many underwater photography and cinematography classes as well. Yet, breaking into the underwater cinematography business has been overly tricky for no reason. Sure, you can get smaller projects, but it's been hard to get anything that will pay well enough to afford the appropriate equipment. Since most of the low budget shows want you to have your own gear, it's kind of a catch 22. Like everything in this business, it's all who you know and honestly, if you can find work, then I'd go for it. Otherwise, there is no reason in my opinion.

Always keep in mind that no union can prevent you from doing anything. They are not the law. Even though the folks that run 667 like to think they are.

R,

• Premium Member