BA thesis about Contemporary BW cinema

Hi All,

my name is Raffaele, i'm a film student in Italy, i'm going to graduate and finish my BA. I focalised my interests about Cinematography, and i want to do my final project about Black And White cinema in the last 20 years.

I already watched a lot of film both in BW or Mixed and read some books, but i want to ask you if you have any ideas, film or book about this. Any help would be really appreciated.

My challenge is to find the time at which BW has become a choice of aesthetic rather than a productive need, like first Chris Nolan feature.

Thank you in advance.

• Premium Member

I think you have to go back to the late 1960s to early 1970s to find the time when B&W became an aesthetic choice, if only because color photography had become the norm. Kind of like choosing to shoot film over digital capture today.

If you limit your search to 1996-2016, then I think some of films you'll find that were shot in B&W were made that way for purely economic reasons - 'Clerks', 'Pi', 'Following' and others were shot in B&W because it was the cheapest way to self-finance a feature shot on film at the time. Not because of aesthetics. Once 24p digital video became an accepted format for independent filmmakers, the popularity of 16mm B&W waned significantly.

1996 is a very late start date. The last big picture shot in b/w for aesthetic reasons was probably "The Elephant Man", and it was the first for a decade or so.

As early as 1962 b/w was an unusual choice for a Hollywood epic -q.v. "The Longest Day".

“The Artist” was shot on 5219 and converted to black and white. That was pretty recent. They wanted to do it all on Plus-X, but another feature beat them to the remainder of the world’s stock.

I think Satsuki is right, though. Up through the breakthrough of decent DV, a lot of these were small films that couldn’t afford to shoot color (but many, in their own right, remain beautiful examples of filmmaking craft).