Trailer of my first feature..."Malum"

• Premium Member

I am not sure if this is where we are supposed to put trailers as I have never done one before.

I know I said I wouldn't come back but I wanted to announce that, for better or worse, I completed my first feature film. I had a tiny budget and non-union talent but I got it done and learned a ton. I wanted to thank everyone here in the past who gave me advice that saved me from some pitfalls. I also want to apologize to others whose advice I ignored to my own peril and I ended up learning the hard way.

Nonetheless, no amount of research and talking to others can ever substitute for actually making a feature...even a cheap one. I admire all of you who have made features in the past and still continue to do so (Richard B...please forgive me for my negative words in the past.)

Okay, enough talk...here is the trailer for my new film entitled "Malum." I have also attached the movie poster as well.

https://youtu.be/GAWi3gtL5Ok

post-14289-0-67905800-1468095624_thumb.jpg

• Premium Member

Congrats on finishing a film, that's always an accomplishment.

The best thing I could say is there is a creepy vibe going throughout in a sort of 60's underground cult movie sort of way.

At least on my computer, most of the cuts have a weird jump in exposure like you used to get in analog video when you didn't have the dub tape pre-blacked and didn't use a time base corrector, almost like each shot was just dubbed to tape using the pause button on a VCR.

• Premium Member

Congrats Matthew! It's so true what you said about the learning process. I made a micro-budget feature almost ten years ago now and I often tell people that I learned more shooting that movie than I did in my entire film school and post film school career combined.

• Premium Member

Congrats on finishing a film, that's always an accomplishment.