tri-x 16mm/S8 home processing tips

Hello, finally got round to processing some 35mm still tri-x at home using R09 one shot and leaving if for an hour with a little agitation at the beginning and middle. Then stop and rinse. I liked the results but I fear this might be too much for smaller formats. I've got a dusty lomo tank and I was thinking it may be better with Acufine, do I need to use any other chemicals? I want to get as fine results as I can before sending them off for a telecine, also if anybody as any tips on how to store them afterwards so them don't get damaged that would be great. A long time film lover, but I'm very new to processing at home.. Thanks for any help. David

Edited by david richardson

• Premium Member

how to store....the processing chemicals? you need a protection gas which is used to substitute air in the bottles to prevent oxidation and not store them in too hot conditions.

anything which don't react with the chemicals and is denser than air should do fine, I think some photographers use lighter gas for this. there is factory made protections sprays which can also used and are less flammable.

If you use raw chemicals (vitamin-c , hydroquinone, etc.) they also need protection from oxidation.

R09 is intended for one use only as the name indicates, especially the very diluted working solutions. and it is very cheap, it's really best to always make a fresh solution for each film batch with that.

there is plenty of photography resources on film developing and fine tuning the formulas for specific emulsions, if you want to really get the best out of the tri-x you should search those forums.

you may need to mix the developer by yourself from raw chemicals if you want to really fine tune it but factory made developers are a good start.

I would use something other than 4-aminophenol developer (R09 etc) if you want less grainy results. maybe Phenidone based like X-tol? some have had good results with it.