How are simple effects done on celluloid movies?

Could be a simple question but i've had no experience working with film. my next project will be shot on 16mm film so i've been curious how simple effects are done on those films ( cut to black, fade in/out, the credits). Are they entirely done by the negative cutting guy? (using optical printer?). How do filmmakers in the past achieve the credits when there's no video technology? And what is best and cheap way to achieve those now if you want to finish the movie on celluloid ( for me, if the film was shot on film, it has to be finished on film. Other digital version is simply the transformation of the original work). I also know about film recording but that might be expensive.

• Premium Member

16mm negative is assembled in A-B "checkerboard" rolls -- the next cut in a sequence is on the opposite printing roll, with black leader in the gaps, so the first shot is on the A-roll, the next on the B-roll, with black leader filling in the gaps, etc. This way the two rolls can be exposed in two passes onto the same print and the splices all happen outside of the picture area. But this also means that when you are editing the movie, you have to account for a half-frame being lost on each side of your clip.

With an A-B roll conformed negative, you can institute some fades and dissolves as long as they are standard lengths that the lab offers (I don't know the numbers, but let's say it is a 12-frame fade-out, a 24-frame fade-out, etc.) So for a fade in or out, that shot is gradually darkened frame by frame as it is being printed onto the print stock. For a dissolve, the A-side is faded out and when they lay in the B-roll exposure pass, the B-side of the dissolve is faded in, with an overlap in the exposures between the two shots, so you get a dissolve. Again, in standardized lengths. Some editing systems can be set-up to flag those things so you only choose lab-approved lengths for fades and dissolves.