Advice for getting onto a studio lot.

Sean Prasso

Hi Everyone,

I am a recent SUNY Purchase grad who currently lives in New York. I just got back from California after taking the ASC Masterclass and Shane Hurlbut ASC Filmmaking Workshop. After my time spent there I am positive it's the place for me to pursue my dream.

I need advice on how to get on set in any capacity in a studio lot. Ideally in the camera department. I searched up and down on all the studio career pages and there are no opportunities available to work on set.

Best

Sean

Edited by Sean Prasso

• Premium Member

Even I rarely get to shoot on a studio lot...

Most studio shoots are union productions, so if you're not in Local 600 and working on the camera crew as an assistant, I'm not sure how you'd get onto a set there other than as an intern, and that's something specific -- you'd have to be an enrolled student at an accredited school working for units and covered by the school's liability insurance. This is the only way to deal with issues like minimum wage laws, Workers Comp, not being in the union, etc.

• Upvote 1

• Premium Member

It was at least a decade of shooting features before I ever stepped onto a traditional soundstage at a major studio lot, so I'm not sure it's absolutely necessary for your education. Of course, I started lighting sets on smaller stages even in film school.

• Upvote 2

Right. Since Im out of school Im trying to get leads on P.A. work. I just talked to my buddy who works at Fox and said he can get me day player gigs over there so I'm definitely going to take him up on that. I'm just trying to find something more secure for consistent cash.

Edited by Sean Prasso

• Premium Member

Working on a lot won't help you. I was working on the CBS and Warner lot quite a bit over the years and even though I mingled with lots of higher-up's, it wasn't the right place to be.