Hey all,

I'm a cinematography graduate student at Chapman University working on an stop-motion animation film as the cinematographer.

This is my (along with the rest of the crew's) first experience working with stop-motion. Right now, we are in the pre-production stage (character/set design and storyboarding), I'm wondering if anyone on this forum has advice to share in regards to lenses, lighting, tips on shooting small scale sets, experiences, things to avoid, etc. I appreciate the time and any help.

Robert

One thing that can help is shooting stills in 4k and cropping to 2k for the finished product. Gives you a lot more breathing room when trying to block out equipment.

Also you'll want to make sure your lenses have impressive close focus distance. Nothing more annoying than thinking you have a good shot, then realizing you need to re-work everything cause the lens won't pull back close enough.

• Upvote 1

• Premium Member

Make sure you have plenty of working room around your sets. If they want an exterior set to be "sunlit", you'll need a large source pretty far away so there's no fall off. And do your best to keep lights out of the way of animators. They spend a very long time with their arms digging around the set. If you can, try to hang all your lighting. Nothing worse for you than an animator bumping a light stand.

• Upvote 1

Hi,

A few things were useful for me:

- the scale (size) of your lights should match the scale of your models.

If large sources are good for general washing, small mirrors reflecting a standard source creates a small beam. That's just an example. But think small.

- the depth of field is of utmost importance.

To master it requires more light, but it's worth it. The set could seem overlighted, and it's difficult to maintain an artistic and technical balance of lights when your eyes are squinting, but your final pictures will look great.