Best vintage 16mm camera?

Lasse Ibsen Thun

Hi,

for an upcoming project, I am looking for a good, vintage 16mm camera. By vintage, I would preferably mean pre-1945. But I am unsure of my options, as I haven't read myself up on 16mm cameras from this era. The best option right now seems to be the Bell & Howell Filmo, but I would really love to have a reflex camera and use an Angineux zoom I have. What other options are there?

If all else fail, I might just get a Bolex H16 Reflex, even though it is from the 1950s.

Also, I am not a beginner to motion picture film.

Thank you for your help.

-Lasse

• Premium Member

What mount does your Angenieux zoom lens require? I think that will determine which cameras you should be looking at.

You might have focusing issues with an RX H16 Bolex on the wide end of your zoom, I think the Switar RX lenses would be best for those cameras.

Not sure you will find a pre-1945 reflex 16mm camera, but I could be wrong about that. I think if a reflex viewfinder is important, than maybe an Arri S or S/B would be a good option. Unless you need to record sync sound...

Thank you, mr. Murashige.

Yes, my Angineux is a C-mount lens. I should add that I don't have any problems buying more lenses for whichever camera I end up with. And yes, I have problems finding any reflex camera pre-45. It was still very new then. But are there other "pro-level" 16mm cameras from the era without reflex?

• Premium Member

The only reflex viewfinder camera for 16mm film from before WWII is the Ciné-Kodak Special (April 1933).

You swing in a mirror between lens and ground glass, it jumps back when you press the release button.

Rugged, big bottom surface, exact frame counter but Kodak mount

The Filmo 70s are also sturdy designs. Look for one with an enlarged base.

There’s a Mitchell 16 for sale on eBay. $1,995. It came to the market in 1946.

I would like to bring back the option of a Bolex.

The first 16H were produced in 1935.