Some questions about grading and chroma subsampling from a cinematography noob

Evan Richards

Ok, so I'm a relative noob to cinematography in the sense that I've basically only ever shot with the 5d mk II and other cameras that shoot in h.264 formats. I'm interested to see how far I can push better footage. 4:4:4 footages and 4:2:2 footages. So I went on Kinefinity's site and downloaded some of their test footage.

Correct me if any of the following information seems wrong. I'm just trying to figure things out.

I brought the raw cineform .mov footage into after effects.

In case it matters I'm specifically using this clip: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/r8a92kcey52p7ql/AABEGqhWEQjugWrYbHFN4dJxa?dl=0&preview=BLN-0001-028-A1-5426.zip

I set the project settings to 16 bit with working space set to "none". I realize the footage isn't 16 bit but that should give me the color leeway I need to make sure I don't lose any information which would happen if I set the project settings to 8 bit (right).

OK. So I have my raw footage. Raw footage is by its nature 4:4:4 right? The chroma subsampling is always a result of the compression correct? You'd never get a subsampled image from the sensor would you?

I bring it into after effects and drop it into a timeline. I then export it three different ways. I export a prores 4444 (with export depth set to trillions of colors) and prores 422 (with export depth set to trillions of colors) and apple intermediate codec which I've read is a 4:2:0 codec (with export depth set to millions of colors).

Then I import these three clips into my timeline. So now I have 4 tracks, each one the same shot.

1. My original file which is an uncompressed cineform .mov

2. An apple prores 4444 (hopefully this won't look much if any different from the source file)

3. An apple prores 422

4. An apple intermediate codec (4:2:0 I believe)