Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Sue Smith

ASC Reveals Nominees for 2018 Student Heritage Awards

Recommended Posts

Contenders for the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) 2018 Student Heritage Awards have been unveiled today by the organization. Designed to inspire the next generation, the awards recognize graduate, undergraduate and documentary cinematography students for their exceptional work. The 13 nominees this year hail from 10 universities nationwide, and winners will be announced October 13.

The ASC Student Heritage Awards also celebrate the memory of an exceptional cinematographer and are re-named each year in honor of esteemed ASC members. This year’s Undergraduate Award is named in honor of Gerald Hirschfeld, ASC and the Graduate Award honors Sol Negrin, ASC. The Documentary category is dedicated to Haskell Wexler, ASC.

Finalists for this year’s student awards are:

ASC Sol Negrin, ASC Student Heritage Award – Graduate Category:

Brody Anderson for Drawn Curtains, Chapman University – Dodge College

Steven Breckon for A Place to Stay, American Film Institute (AFI)

Andres Gallegos for Shoe Shiner, San Francisco State University

Yair Halper for Sauna, American Film Institute (AFI)

Heyjin Jun for Difficult People, University of Southern California (USC) School of Cinematic Arts

ASC Gerald Hirschfield, ASC Student Heritage Award – Undergraduate Category:

Jack Craymer for Sonora, Chapman University – Dodge College

Matthew Hayward for The Latent Image, Columbia College Chicago

Grace Marrero for The Girl and the Bird, Florida State University (FSU) College of Motion Picture Arts

Simms Wright for Sodium Vapor Nights, University of North Carolina (UNC) School of the Arts

ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award:

Alejandro Cortes Sanchez for Adrift, School of Visual Arts NYC

Rachel Lattin for Monumental, Chapman University – Dodge College

Minagi Tanaka for She Comes at Night, State University of New York at New Paltz

Xinzhong Zhao for Francis Ford Coppola’s Live Cinema, University of California Los Angeles (UCLA)

Negrin was nominated for five Emmy Awards — three for his work on the detective drama Kojak, one for the telefilm The Last Tenant, and one for an episode of the series Baker’s Dozen. His cinematography in television commercials also earned four Clio Awards. Negrin received the ASC Presidents Award in 2010 in recognition of not only his expertise behind the camera, but for being an ambassador of the art and craft of cinematography.

In 2007, Hirschfeld was honored with the ASC Presidents Award. His reputation for being a precise, exacting perfectionist led to his first major feature assignment, shooting the Cold War drama Fail-Safe for director Sidney Lumet. He would go on to shoot some 40 feature films, including The Incident, Goodbye Columbus, Cotton Comes to Harlem, Diary of a Mad Housewife, Young Frankenstein, Two Minute Warning, The World’s Greatest Lover, The Bell Jar, Neighbors, My Favorite Year and To Be or Not to Be.

Wexler began his career shooting documentaries and remained a passionate documentarian throughout his career. He earned an Academy Award® in 1966 for Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and a second Oscar® in 1976 for Bound for Glory. He also received nominations for One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (shared with Bill Butler, ASC), Matewan and Blaze. In 1969, Wexler wrote, directed and shot Medium Cool, which is studied by film students worldwide for its cinéma vérité style. In 1992, he was honored with the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award.

Many ASC Student Heritage Award winners have gone on to have successful careers in filmmaking, and several have been invited to be ASC members themselves.

For additional information about the ASC, visit www.theasc.com, and follow them on Instagram (@the_asc), or join American Cinematographer on Facebook, Twitter (@AmericanCine), and Instagram (@american_cineamtographer).

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • The Original Slider

    FJS International

    Broadcast Solutions Inc

    Visual Products

    Gamma Ray Digital Inc

    Tai Audio

    G-Force Grips

    Rig Wheels Passport


    New Pro Video - New and Used Equipment

    Paralinx LLC

    Serious Gear

    Ritter Battery

    Metropolis Post


    Wooden Camera

    Media Blackout - Custom Cables and AKS

    Abel Cine

    Just Cinema Gear

    Cinematography Books and Gear
  • Create New...