Getting better at coverage. Where to learn?

Guest Greg Moulton

Guest razerfish

I've directed about a dozen shorts (comedy sketches meant for TV to be specific), and am trying to get better each time.

I'd like to get better coverage than I'm getting, and to make it easier than it is. I found shot lists only somewhat useful, and storyboards more useful than shot lists, but I still missed some coverage with my storyboards. It's difficult to keep everything together when you shoot out of sequence, at least for me it is.

I'd like to get to the point where I could put a film together at a highly professional level, and I think I need to improve in the area of getting the right coverage.

Is there some place I could really learn to get better at this aspect of directing? I'm a strong writer and can work well with actors, and even do well with my staging, but getting the best possible coverage is what I struggle with the most.

I'm interested in theory as well. The best book I read so far is Shot by Shot. Any others to be recommended?

Any suggestions, books, forums, or even classes would be appreciated. I'd love to pick the brain of an experienced DP or Director for an hour or two but there aren't very many in my neck of the woods.

• Premium Member
I've directed about a dozen shorts (comedy sketches meant for TV to be specific), and am trying to get better each time.

I'd like to get better coverage than I'm getting, and to make it easier than it is.  I found shot lists only somewhat useful, and storyboards more useful than shot lists, but I still missed some coverage with my storyboards.  It's difficult to keep everything together when you shoot out of sequence, at least for me it is. 

I'd like to get to the point where I could put a film together at a highly professional level, and I think I need to improve in the area of getting the right coverage.