choosing your DP

I am in the process of choosing a DP for my debut feature film.

I am the writer/director. My script is a contemporary urban drama containing minimal dialogue. I am looking for a DP with a creative eye for visual storytelling, with a instinct for brave, economical choices that serve the story/overall vision of the piece. The film will be shot in Ireland.

I have a strong sense of the visual style but as I have limited experience on set I need a close, skilled, open, patient and stimulating collaborator to facilitate a creative working environment and help translate my/our agreed vision onto celluloid

I have arranged a meeting with a potential DP for next weekend.. I admire his work greatly and he is passionate about the script. (and he is within our price range)

These 3 points are obviously key criteria in choosing a DP to work with.

IN YOUR EXPERIENCE WHAT HAVE YOU FOUND TO BE THE MOST INSTRUCTIVE SIGNS OF A POTENTIALLY FRUITFULL WORKING RELATIONSHIP?

And also what have you found to be signs of A POTENTIALLY UNHEALTHY ONE?

All anecdotes and words of wisdom are welcome.

• Premium Member
I am looking for a DP with a creative eye for visual storytelling, with a instinct for brave, economical choices that serve the story/overall vision of the piece. The film will be shot in Ireland.

I have a strong sense of the visual style but as I have limited experience on set I need a close, skilled, open, patient and stimulating collaborator to facilitate a creative working environment and help translate my/our agreed vision onto celluloid.

Allright..all-RIGHT! I'll do it. Just give me a little time to find somebody to cover me for the

Kornbladt wedding and then I gotta tell Gus...:

post-4994-1123158178.jpg

You want tact, call a tactician. You want a ass nailed, you come see Gus Petch.

...that I won't be available for a few weeks.

• Premium Member