What steps to take

Dear Cinematagraphy.com community, 

I need some guidance. Next summer I want to start my freelance career in the film industry. My final goal is to be a cinematographer (duh) in the narrative world. 

I have been studying something very cinematography unrelated for the last 7 years and do not see myself working in that full time, because doesn't make me happy. Gonna get the degree nonetheless, if I fail in the movie business, I can always go back. But creating has always made be happy. 

During the last 3 years I have been shooting small music videos on the side and worked as a spark during my holidays (been on my first feature this autumn - it was exhausting but I fell in love with the process)

I plan on trying to get more work in the lighting department (for cash), but I am unsure if that's the right way moving forward. Even though lighting has become my passion, I feel AC's have a much more close relationship with cinematographers, which could get me in the right circles? Also, I feel like finding a mentor would beneficial, but as I have mainly worked in the GE department I have no valueable skills to offer a DP on a real narrative set.

What steps would you take moving forward? I am willing to put in the work. I know that getting where I want will take years if not decades.

I don't know if it makes sense, I am going to link some stills from projects I shot myself that turned out good in my opinion, maybe that is going to be helpful to assess my skills?!

HrxGVHf.jpg

QCGW7gQ.jpg

6vGOGhI.jpg

BDu87sX.jpg

Edited by Tim Pfautsch
Spelling

My gut feeling is that if you want to become a cinematographer, then you should just start selling yourself as a cinematographer. As someone who first worked as a Steadicam op for many years before moving to DP, when you make the change, it will be like starting all over again. At least that was my experience.