A Question About Blown Out Footage

dallas kruse

I'm a noob.

I have a Sony a7sII, a canon t3i, and a canon t4i.

I've been shooting, for fun, some live bands in my studio. The lighting is just like a live concert with 4 channel LEDs, LED movers, and a couple of static par cans.

I'm not behind the camera but rather playing keyboards so I don't have an idea of how the shots look till the taping is done.

I'm wondering how I avoid getting shots that are blown out. One shot will look fine on the Sony but will be blown out on the Canons.  The lights are constantly changing colors and scenes throughout each song ... with a lot of colors.

How should I be prepping each camera to ensure NO shots get blown out? My ISO never goes above 800 (set manually). My white balance is set to AUTO.  

Should I be simply turning down the white channels on my DMX board? Should I be running some kind of light meter before each shoot? 

How do I measure lighting to ensure the footage will come out with no issues?

Thanks and apologies for my lack of knowledge but this is how I'm learning ... by asking.

• Premium Member

Best to post some video, or at least stills, so we can have a look at the problem.

Shooting that sort of stage lighting is notoriously tricky, for several reasons. What looks good on camera often doesn't look good to the naked eye.

Easier to say more once I've seen it.

P

Screen grab 1 is obviously blown out.

Screen 2 is a few frames later when the stage lighting changes ... in which the singer looks great.

3 and 4 are really blown out and I lose definition on her face.

Trying to find a way to balance out my shots so I don't get ANY blown out shots.  Should I be using a light meter before shooting?

Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 5.52.14 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 5.51.02 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 5.51.15 AM.jpg

Screen Shot 2019-11-17 at 5.50.07 AM.jpg

• Premium Member