The rare(?) Aaton XTR XC model

Stephen Perera

• Premium Member

Presenting my rare......apparently, and peculiar...certainly....Aaton XTR XC for those that have not been bored by me enough......now I can post images again by becoming a sustaining member here she is....I bought it over the XTR Prod cos it has no electronics...I figured the less there are the longer it will work with no problems. Standard 16mm format.

As a Hasselblad photographer I like composing in this format and its looking like its in fashion......I looked into changing to S16 not knowing any better but decided to stay in standard 16 format. 

Apparently this is the camera one would take to the jungle and such like inhospitable parts of earth etc as back up in case the other ones had problems. The extended viewfinder I have (not in image) was owned by Michael Palin's camera guy and its been to the most extreme places on earth too!

aaton_xtr_xc.jpg

Edited by Stephen Perera
  • Like 5

• 3 years later...
  • Premium Member

I bought this model as it was the most manual.....I don't want a video tap and I don't want any electronics.....I want as much of a purist experience as possible...the most similar to shooting a Hasselblad. I LOVE the standard 16mm format and I'm glad I didn't pursue my initial thoughts of converting to super 16mm. I also don't care about PL mount. I can use Arri-B, Nikon F and M42 lenses on it. One can get carried away with what the 'industry' uses only to forget one is nowhere near the pearly gates of said industry but oceans and continents away haha

In lockdown my batteries died...my fault....but Tyler Purcell has rescued it with an 'adapter' (for want of a better word but as such one that belittles the importance of it!) for modern batteries!

• 1 month later...
  • Premium Member