Lighting per shot vs environment

Hello group, 

While having a long history in VFX, I am fairly new to the practical side of things. I am planning on doing some short films where once the general blocking of action is done, I want to pre-light for the environment rather than make each shot perfect. I plan to have bounce cards to move around quickly for each shot to shape the light a tad. All my on set experience has been on high end productions where every shot is setup for 10 mins to an hour or more, or super low budget with little to no thought put into lighting. Is environment lighting even a practical consideration? Any vid tutorials out there or help on this subject would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

• Premium Member

Hi Doug, welcome to the forum!

Talking about my own experience, I light environments as opposed as shots as I like giving a 270º freedom to the director. 
It works for me because I work with people who understand it and we block the scenes together to shoot that way and probably because I like being invisible with my lighting and I light from outside the locations (through windows or with practicals)

Said that, if I go from a wide master shot to a close up I add either a diffusion frame near the talent and negative fill or a polyboard / china ball + negative fill if I have time in order to shape the face a bit.

Placing a diffusion frame + negative fill for a close up usually takes 5 to 10 minutes (depending on how many crew you have). 

So it definitely is a practical consideration and once that makes things a bit more natural under my point of view. ? 

Here are some practical examples:

Edited by Miguel Angel
  • Upvote 1