Eye light in Westworld

Though I know it's not to everybody's taste, I really like the small, hard eyelight used in Westworld.  Particularly for the hosts (robots), I think it makes them feel colder.

I'm working on a short production that will be shot entirely at night, and I'd like to do something similar.  Usually, my key or fill serves as an eye light.  However, in the following images, I'm not certain the key or fill is the source of the eye light.  At least it doesn't look like it.  Any idea what they're doing?

Thanks as always for the collective wisdom.

image-asset.png?format=2500w

image-asset.png?format=1500w

Wow David!  That sets me back to square one.  In the close ups I've shot so far, I can always see the shape of the light (a softbox or tube light or whatever) in the eye.  I'm blown away that these all come from keys or fills.

Here's a thought.  I'm a very small producer and the largest light I have is an Aputure 300D II.  Because I have such low powered lights I'm generally getting them in as close as I can to bring up exposure, which would allow the shape to show in the eye.

Do you think it's likely that in Westworld the reason that we're not seeing the shape of the light in the eyes is because they are very powerful lights that are set way back from the talent?

Thanks for any response.  I'd love to get that same tiny point of light in the eyes but at an affordable price.

Cheers!

33 minutes ago, David Mullen ASC said:

Now I see them. The first and the last have a low fill / eye light, the rest have the key light, even if underexposed in some cases, reflecting in the eye.

That was my guess! 

I like how the catch lights look in the first and the last frames. How would you achieve this look without brightening up the face too much?

Lone dimmed 4 foot kinoflo on the floor? LED panel? 

I've heard of people putting white diffusion or black nets or muslin over catch lights, but each approach seems to contradict the next.