Eclair NPR 16mm

Krys Athens

Would anyone recomend shootiing with the NPR?

Why not. Good enough for Jean Rouch, good enough for the rest of us.

Solid camera, mags are easy to load (easier than ACL), and CA-1 to Arri-B mount adapter for about $90 will allow you to mount B mt HS lenses.

Shooting B/W or color?

Your questions are vague and you should look in the archive as this has been discussed many times.

--Alain

I shot a project on the NPR last year. It was a B/W doc. I used an old set of prime lenses. I liked using it. It was pretty easy to use although a bit awkard. I would recommend it if it were available to you, as I have enjoyed it in the past. But then again, I am no expert!

• Premium Member
Would anyone recomend shootiing with the NPR?

Hey a solid 16mm camera is a 16mm camera.

should I rent better lenses though

thanks-

To be honest m8,

Better use an Aaton XLR 7 , I did a feature film with NPR and it was full of suprises!

U see this cameras were great when new, but not after all this miles of footage on their backs.

Regards

Dimitrios Koukas

The NPR is the best camera going for the money. Just be sure you know its quirks and idosyncracies. The camera gets a lot of blame for operators who are inexperienced in its use. Variable shutter, registration pin, and horizontal pressure plate put this camera in a class with the very best of 16mm cameras. However, it is dated and takes some getting used to. The finder is pretty dark and you need a good motor (like the Tobin or AZ conversion or Cirpi), and a S16/PL mount conversion is really helpful) but for the price, its features are unbeatable. Plus, it's built like a tank. I use mine often as B-camera for an SR3A (I challange anyone to tell the difference) difference) and as A-camera on lower budget stuff (fictional narrative sync sound stuff, not just music videos) and myself, the director, and the producers are always pleased with the results.