Jump to content

American Society of Cinematographers Sets 2017 Awards Date

Sue Smith

Recommended Posts

LOS ANGELES (September 15, 2016) - The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has set February 4, 2017, as the date for their 31st Annual Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography. Daryn Okada, ASC will serve as awards chair, with Lowell Peterson, ASC, as co-chairman. The ceremony will take place at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. The ASC will honor excellence in feature film and television cinematography, along with recognizing several cinematographers and filmmakers for their contributions to the art and craft of filmmaking throughout their career.

The organization has also officially opened the submission process for the television competition. The ASC is now accepting entries in three categories: (1) Episode of a Television Series - Commercial; (2) Episode of a Television Series - Non Commercial; and (3) TV Movie/Miniseries/Pilot. The deadline for submissions is November 1 by 5 p.m. (PT).

To qualify for the ASC TV awards, shows must have a premiere broadcast date in the United States between November 1, 2015, and October 31, 2016. Entry forms can be downloaded at http://bit.ly/ascawardstventryform on the ASC website.

The timeline for the 31st ASC Awards is as follows:

  • September 14 - Student Award Nominees Announced
  • October - Honorees Announcement for Lifetime Achievement Award, Career Achievement in Television Award, International Award, and Presidents Award
  • October 15 - Student Award Winners Announced
  • November 1, 5 p.m. PT - Deadline for Television Entries November 22 - Television Nominations Announced
  • December - Board of Governors Award Recipient Announced
  • December 1 - Spotlight Award submissions due
  • December 12 (week of) - Nominations Ballots sent (Theatrical Release Only)
  • December 31 - Awards year ends (Theatrical Release Only)
  • January 6 - Deadline for Theatrical Nomination Ballots
  • January 9 (week of) - Spotlight Nominations Announced
  • January 10 - Theatrical Nominations AnnouncedJanuary 23 - Spotlight Award Final Ballots Due
  • January 28 - ASC Open House
  • January 30 - Final Polls Close (Theatrical Release Only)
  • February 4 - 31st Annual ASC Awards Show

Last year's ASC Awards winners included: Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC (THE REVENANT); Vanja Cernjul, ASC, HFS (CASANOVA); Pierre Gill, CSC (MARCO POLO); Adam Arkapaw, ACS (MACBETH); and Mátyás Erdély, HSC (SON OF SAUL). John Toll, ASC, Lowell Peterson, ASC, Bill Bennett, ASC and Ridley Scott were also honored at the awards gala for their body of work.

Chartered in January of 1919, the ASC is defined by their reputation of excellence in advancing the art of visual storytelling. Currently, the ASC has more than 360 active members and 200-plus associate members, all from various sectors of the industry that support the skilled art and craft of filmmaking. Membership and associate membership is achieved through invitation only.

For additional information about the ASC, visit www.theasc.com, or join American Cinematographer on Facebook and Twitter (@AmericanCine).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...