Jump to content

Stelling, Hughes, Deschanel and More to Sit on CAMERIMAGE Juries, Nov 16-23

Recommended Posts



CAMERIMAGE, the International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography, has assembled a stellar roster of esteemed individuals from the world of cinema to serve as jurors in its competition categories. Acclaimed directors Jos Stelling and Albert Hughes, and Oscar-nominated cinematographers Caleb Deschanel, Ed Lachman, Tom Stern, Stuart Dryburgh and Jost Vacano are just a few of the celebrated filmmakers who will serve as jurors at the festival, which takes place November 16th - 23rd in Bydgoszcz, Poland.


Jury members of the main competition jury are Oscar nominee Tom Stern, cinematographer (Million Dollar Baby, Gran Torino, The Hunger Games); Oscar nominee Ed Lachman, cinematographer (Erin Brockovich, The Virgin Suicides, I'm Not There); Todd McCarthy, journalist and film critic (Visions of Light, Corman's World: Exploits of a Hollywood Rebel); Primetime Emmy nominee Denis Lenoir, cinematographer (Paris, je t'aime, Righteous Kill, 88 Minutes); Adam Holender, cinematographer (Midnight Cowboy, Smoke, Fresh); Timo Salminen, cinematographer (The Man Without a Past, La Havre, The Match Factory Girl); Franz Lustig, cinematographer (Don't Come Knocking, Land of Plenty, Palermo Shooting); and Jeffrey Kimball, cinematographer (Top Gun, Mission: Impossible II, The Expendables).


Oscar nominee Jost Vacano, cinematographer of such films as Total Recall, RoboCop and Starship Troopers, is Jury President of the Polish Films Competition. The other jury members are Oscar nominee Stuart Dryburgh, cinematographer (The Piano, Bridget Jones's Diary, The Recruit); Dennis Dembia, Vice President, entertainment PR agency Rogers & Cowan; BAFTA Film Award nominee Michael Seresin, cinematographer (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Midnight Express, The Life of David Gale); and Primetime Emmy nominee Sean Bobbitt, cinematographer (Shame, 12 Years a Slave, The Place Beyond the Pines).


Award-winning director Jos Stelling (The Girl and Death, De wisselwachter, De illusionist) is the Jury President of the Cinematographers Debuts' Competition. Joining him on the jury are Goert Giltay, cinematographer (The Girl and Death, De wisselwachter, The Stone Raft); Reed Morano, cinematographer (Frozen River, Kill Your Darlings, The Magic of Belle Isle); Daniele Nannuzzi, cinematographer (Santa Sangre, Empire, Due partite); and Piotr Kukla, cinematographer (Twin Sisters, The Zookeeper, Bride Flight).


Albert Hughes is the Jury President for the Directors Debuts' Competition. Hughes was the co-director of Menace II Society, From Hell and The Book of Eli. The rest of the jury is comprised of Witold Stok, cinematographer (Close My Eyes, Murphy's Law, Best); Steven Fierberg, cinematographer (Love & Other Drugs, Secretary, A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master); Peter Menzies Jr., cinematographer (Die Hard: With a Vengeance, The Incredible Hulk, Shooter); and Jaroslav Kucera, producer (Dark Blue World, Zelary, Up and Down).


Barry B. Sandrew, stereographer for films such as Shrek 2, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides and Transformers: Dark of the Moon, is the Jury President for the 3D Competition - the newest addition to the Festival. The other jury members include Markus Lanxinger, stereographer (The Amazing Spider-Man, Texas Chainsaw 3D, The Green Hornet); Matthew R. Blute, editor (Storm Surfers 3D, Stalingrad, Katy Perry: Part of Me); and Glen MacPherson, cinematographer (Rambo, Resident Evil: Afterlife, The Three Musketeers).


Overseeing the Students Etudes Competition is Jury President Caleb Deschanel, five-time Oscar nominated cinematographer for films such as The Patriot, The Passion of the Christ and National Treasure. The other jury members are Lech Majewski, director, writer and producer (The Mill and the Cross, Basquait); Phedon Papamichael, cinematographer (The Pursuit of Happyness, The Descendants, Sideways); Tony Lawson, film editor (Barry Lyndon, The Brave One, Straw Dogs); Sergey Trofimov, cinematographer (Night Watch, Mongol: The Rise of Genghis Khan, Day Watch); Daniel Pearl, cinematographer (The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Friday the 13th, Aliens vs. Predators: Requiem); and Anastas Michos, cinematographer (Born on the Fourth of July, Man on the Moon, Interview with the Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles).


Presiding over the Feature Documentary Films Competition is Jury President Joan Churchill, cinematographer and director of Aileen: Life and Death of a Serial Killer, Shut Up & Sing and Kurt & Courtney. Other jury members are Alan Barker, sound editor and cinematographer (Dogtown and Z-Boys, Beyond the Mat, West of Memphis); Primetime Emmy nominee Ewa Ewart, producer and director (Children of Beslan); Martina Radwan, cinematographer (William Kunstler: Disturbing the Universe, Train, Hot Coffee); and Lawrence Grobel, writer and journalist.


Jury members for the Short Documentary Films Competition are Jury President Stephen Lighthill, cinematographer (Coming Out Under Fire, Nash Bridges, The Huntress); Jay Rosenblatt, director and cinematographer (A Pregnant Moment, Human Remains, The Smell of Burning Ants); Lorenzo Castore, photographer, director and cinematographer; Rachel Morrison, cinematographer (Fruitvale Station, Sound of My Voice, Any Day Now); and Primetime Emmy nominee Declan Quinn, cinematographer (Leaving Las Vegas, In America, Rachel Getting Married).


The Jury President for the Music Videos Competition is Samuel Bayer, director and cinematographer for films and music videos such as A Nightmare on Elm Street, Green Day: Bullet in a Bible and Nirvana's "Smells Like Teen Spirit," The Rolling Stones' "Anybody Seen My Baby?" and Marilyn Manson's "Disposable Teens." Rounding out the jury are Robert Leszczynski, music critic and journalist; Roberto Schaefer, cinematographer (Finding Neverland, The Kite Runner, Quantum of Solace); Stephen Keith - ROACH, cinematographer (music videos for talents Radiohead, Jamiroquai, Robbie Williams, Tina Turner, U2 and many others); Daniel Pearl, cinematographer (The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Friday the 13th, Aliens vs. Predators: Requiem); and Andrzej Smolik, musician.


CAMERIMAGE's prestigious Golden Frog, Silver Frog and Bronze Frog awards will be bestowed upon competition titles representing the greatest achievements in cinematography. The festival runs from November 16th - 23rd in Bydgoszcz, Poland.



Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...