Question for john

I am producing a feature on a very meager budget (around 30K) and am finding it difficult to plan, knowing that everything will have a maximum of 4 takes. This is my first film shot on actaul film, and so in that sense I am a student (arent we all) and I will have PAs from the local college doing internship, so they too will be students. I am sure this is not enough to get a student discount.

The question I have is who can I talk to to get som sort of discount on the film. even if its a meager discount. I would be buying up to 100 400ft reels of 16mm film, so the order is large. I was quoted 140/reel, but that was through the main sales of kodak.

I dont want to do short ends or buy backs, as instability in the films performance is completely unacceptable.

So my question, and Im sure that john can answer better than most, What options are there for me to save a bit of money. (its not actually saving money, I have a set budget for film, its more like how can I get the most reels for the money) Is kodak interested in extending discounts to first-time film makers? would they be interested in doing a partnership in the film, whereby they can recoup the cost of the discound and a bit more, assuming we can make a profit (what movie cant make 30K?) would kodak be interested in giving discounts in exchange for advertisement at premieres and public showings (IE, during the premiere we put up kodak banners everywhere, and do media interviews with the kodak logo promently featured at the junket) I know a lot of media types, and given the level of production in alaska, this will get a lot of attention in town, and those would in turn be seen by tourist visiting, who coincidently will need to choose between kodak and fuji when they go to the keni fijords.