Editing Monitor/Display/TV/Etc... for HVX & HD editing/viewing?

John Michael Corey

I'm a novice and am learning about HD filming & editing as they pertain to features.

I'm trying to figure out the most cost effective route for viewing/editing the images recorded with the HVX200. My preference is: the bigger the display, the better. I feel that production monitors are tiny and way overpriced and not very "relevant" due to their small screen size. I say "relevant" because if you're viewing/editing something for film, i don't see how an itsy bitsy screen is going to help you better see how your image is going to be projected onto a big movie screen. Maybe they are good for viewing TV footage with their standard/generic flat lighting, but i don't see the utility/practicality in a little production monitor for features.

I'm considering using a home TV/monitor like Pioneer or their Elite line because of their 3:3 pulldown, great image quality, & their generous screen size per dollar - as compared to "production monitors." Or, a 30" Apple monitor. The catch seems to be that the color range that the HVX200 (and really any HD camera) records in is different than the ranges displayed by plasmas or home computer monitors.

Is there a simple program or "adjustment" tool/technique that can be used so that what you see is really what you're going to get when using a plasma TV or Apple monitor? It confuses me because i've always heard that all the "creative people" use Apples, not PC's for doing computer graphics and such. Well, when the "creative people" are editing and color correcting and such, are they using their Apples? Are they hunched over a tiny little CRT production monitor during editing/color correcting/SFX? I seriously doubt it. I need enlightenment, please!

I was hoping someone could give me a definitive & economical/practical solution to this common dilemma. I just can't learn everything at once.