Scratch testing and sharpness testing

Michael Collier

I have a scratch test I need to do for my new short, and since I have never worked with film before, I just thought I should put a quick post to ask for suggestions.

I will proccess at alphacine in seattle (closest lab to me) and found they can do a minimum of 100' So I figure I can do between 50 and 100 feet and just have them charge me for 100 feet. Now I don't want to telecine, or even have them ship the negs back to me (read my other post where I admit I am $500 over budget right now). They said I can call and ask their tech how the neg looks, see if there are any scratches, and I figured that would be a good chance to test its lens sharpness and calibration.

Here are the tests I have planned:

First backfocus the camera to make sure its set properly, and adjust the diopter in the viewfinder for my eyes.

Run 10 feet on something, preferably outside so I can check if there is a scratch. run 10 feet for both mags to see if either has a problem (slating of course to identify mag so lab can inform me which one is scratching, if any)

Run 10 feet on a sharpness chart (SMPTE standard line resolution chart) focused by tape measurement.

run 10 feet on the same chart, but this time with it focused by eye, so I can see if the GG is aligned with the film plane. (presumably both eye and tape focus should be on the same marking, if not there may be a problem)

then I have up to 60feet I can run on various tests. Are there any that would be useful that the lab can report on from the negative, or should I just worry about saving film at that point.