Where to start for second year cinematographer?

Rainer Halbich

I am a second year cinematography student is South Africa, My studies costs around 43 000rand per year ( +- 4 000$) and I still have 3 years to go. I don't know if you know anything about South-African film making, but overall it's the biggest disaster since 9/11, THIS IS MY PROBLEM!, I am one of the top students @ my college and some of my films was in the top ten, and still it looks like a Zimbabwe production because of other crew members. My college claims that I can use my short films in my CV, but what is the use of showing off my short film productions if thy are all crap?

This is my solution, and I want you (the reader) to tell me what you think:

I am looking for a good secondhand camera like a Canon XL2 to start a part time job as a cinematographer, the idea is to make a name for myself and some money to help with the massive 43 000 rand that I have to pay every year for my studies.

What is a good aria to start on?

Live events

Private videos like funerals

Spy work

SOMEONE HELP ME! Please.

Is the Canon XL2 a good camera to start with?

Welcome to the club. You are going to have to be very flexible and resilient, for this is a tough business no matter where you are. Just do any kind of video job that comes your way until you have a body of work in the video field that you want to pursue. The XL2 is a good camera. Good luck. ;)

With all due respect to your current education situation?

Publicly dissing your crew -- with or without naming them -- is not the most mature behavior. Even if some wayward tech f*ed something up big time, you really need to be able to internalize that and learn not to blame others for your shortcomings. If I ever heard a working Cinematographer make that claim? well, I wouldn't be knocking down his/her door to work with them in the future.

School is the place to make these mistakes, best of luck with all of them.