Telecine etiquette

John OBrien

I'm a student filmmaker and just recently wrapped my first production. I plan on "sitting in" on the telecine process but have never done so and was wondering if there is etiquette about anything I should know about. I want to streamline the process as much as possible to save money and want to be able to communicate clearly and efficiently with the colorist. Is there any do's and don'ts, things to know, phrases, terminology, the time to talk, the time to shut up and let him do his job, any prep I can do before I go in, anything that you wish you knew prior to going into your first telecine, an article about the process from start to finish, etc...

I know this is a broad question, but anything would be helpful.

Thanks.

• Premium Member

I'm a student filmmaker and just recently wrapped my first production. I plan on "sitting in" on the telecine process but have never done so and was wondering if there is etiquette about anything I should know about. I want to streamline the process as much as possible to save money and want to be able to communicate clearly and efficiently with the colorist. Is there any do's and don'ts, things to know, phrases, terminology, the time to talk, the time to shut up and let him do his job, any prep I can do before I go in, anything that you wish you knew prior to going into your first telecine, an article about the process from start to finish, etc...

I know this is a broad question, but anything would be helpful.

Well, I would read up on what is possible and what is not possible with the telecine you are going to work with. Spend as much time as you need at beginning of the session telling the colorist what you are looking for and listen to his suggestions. Then let him start rolling. They are very fast. If you see something you want changed, just say so.