Posting audio in surround sound

Matt Pacini

There isn't an "editing" category on the website, and this doesn't exactly fit into "production sound" so that's why I didn't post this over there...

OK, I'm upgrading to a nifty Behringer digital mixer/MIDI interface device, and it can record & mix in surround sound (what is it, 5+1?), and although I have 30+ years of audio & mixing experience, this is my first entry into recording/mixing in surround, and I'm really excited about doing it.

So, my questions are:

1. I'm editing in the computer, at this point only for video as a release format (probably just gonna be burning DVD's at first).

Am I opening a can of worms with this?

I mean, is it a breeze, or a nightmare of different formats, etc.,?

2. If I edit, and want to go to a film print (from a DI master), what's the best way to do that?

3. Do I need to create a separate 2 channel mix for non-surround enabled people, or do DVD players just automatically decode that from a surround signal?

Thanks!

Matt Pacini

Guest Sean McVeigh
1. I'm editing in the computer, at this point only for video as a release format (probably just gonna be burning DVD's at first). 

Am I opening a can of worms with this?

I mean, is it a breeze, or a nightmare of different formats, etc.,?

2. If I edit, and want to go to a film print (from a DI master), what's the best way to do that?

3. Do I need to create a separate 2 channel mix for non-surround enabled people, or do DVD players just automatically decode that from a surround signal?

I just recently forrayed into 5.1 myself. It's pretty cool when you hear your first mix turn out right! Best of luck with your efforts!

I wouldn't consider myself an authority on the subject, but I'll offer some info. regarding your questions: