Advice on moving to LA?

Salil Sundresh

I'm a young aspiring Director of Photography based in Chicago. I have been freelancing for a couple years now and I'm considering finally moving to Los Angeles. I was wondering if anyone could offer me some advice as to how I can best prepare for the move? I'm not sure yet when is the best time to move.

I have done work as an electric and Gaffer on short & feature independent films and AC work on digital & some 3d experience. I have very little film experience as an AC. I have lit for 16mm as a Gaffer and know how to pull focus without looking at a monitor on the red but I haven't had much hands on experience with 35mm cameras because only big union shows around here seem to shoot 35 anymore. I am perfecting my resume, website, reel, business card and reading as many books as I can. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Also, incase it makes a difference, I own a full cinema style Canon 7D camera package with prime lenses, marshall monitor, etc. which I intend to take with me.

Edited by Salil Sundresh

Equipment you own really doesn't matter. What you need to determine is how you wish to proceed with your career. Do you want to work your way up to being a DP through the camera or electric departments? That would take years (decades in fact) with no guarantee of every achieving the goal. Or do you prefer to just jump in and sell yourself to the world as a DP knowing that you will start small, likely working for very little or no money, and still maybe never being able to achieve a viable living.