A Script Writer

Guest Daniel J. Ashley-Smith

Ok, so I have a one of a kind, master project planned in my head. A real Hollywood blockbuster. Trouble is, no damn script. Ideas and plans for the entire film down to cinematography to characters, just no script.

Basically my plan is to build this project up, and then find funding and have cast and crew lining up on my doorstep to do it.

A feature length film lasting 2 hours, do I pay a script writer to do the script for me, or is it down to me?

How much would a script writer charge for a full out blown feature length film? I'm not looking for someone high up in the ranks, just someone good.

Thanks.

Dan.

WGA minimum wages for "A real Hollywood blockbuster" (High-Budget) are:

Treatment: $38,981.00

First Draft: $38,981.00

Rewrite: $25,989.00

Polish: $12,992.00

add agent's fee, guild's pension and health fees etc., you'll have to come up with more than $70K :D

So this looks like you may want to chose a non WGA writer and pay him or her $500.00 , $600.00 whatever he or she would accept for a week and give him / her four to six weeks to write you a first draft. Two more for a second draft and voila!!, if you have chosen right, you have your "real Hollywood blockbuster".

On the other hand, if you write it by yourself it would cost you $0.00 :D + $20.00 to register your screenplay with the WGA or $30.00 with the Copyright Office.

Good luck,

Roman

AHH right... Why do I suddenly feel disappointed?

Yeh well, a non-WGA writer will have to do for now I think.

I mean, how do people do this kind of stuff? Do people get funding BEFORE hand for the script?

I mean if I'm going to go show this idea to some big'ol film company, there going to want to see the whole shebang. Not some sketch pad with a few character bio's and some rough plans.