time lapse

Iskra Valtcheva

hey, i am a student filmmaker based in austin, tx; and i'm involved in the shooting of an experimental 16 mm short which will include some time lapse footage of cityscapes. we are using a bolex H16; and renting an intervalometer from texcam, houston.

can someone who's had experience with time lapse give me some advice on how to shoot it? should i compensate in the aperture or shutter speed because of the single frame exposure? what do i do if the lighting conditions change? what else should i know? never done this before so any advice will be highly appreciated.

thanks!

~iskra

• Premium Member

Hey. I'm in Austin too. Also a student. I don't know much about time-lapse, but I have a couple of handy books and I'm sure we could figure it out.

I'm also shooting some 16mm coming up over spring break. We should talk. I believe my contact information is in my profile, and my e-mail addy is in my signature.

Ok well I've shot a lot of time lapse with 16mm so I will help you as best I can.

First off, you need to know the exposure time of the single frame unit you are using. When a cine camera runs at 24fps the exposure per frame is 1/48th, since the shutter is closed 50% of the time. 1/48th is quite slow in photographic terms, still photographers work with much faster exposures than 1/48th most of the time.

Now, doing a single frame the camera will not have time to get up to speed so we can safely assume that your exposure time will be longer than 1/48th. Hopefully the camera rental shop will know the exposure time, otherwise you'll have to guess. Assume maybe 1/30th? 1/30th is on my light meter so it could be on others.