Jump to content

ASC Names 2014 Student Heritage Awards Nominees

Sue Smith

Recommended Posts

HOLLYWOOD – The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has chosen 12 student filmmakers from 10 U.S. film schools as nominees in the 2014 ASC Linwood Dunn Student Heritage Awards. The awards are designed to showcase the artistic abilities of the next generation of filmmakers, with a focus on their cinematography skills. Winners will be announced June 14.

The nominees are (listed alphabetically):

In the Undergraduate category:

  • Freddy Domini Alcantara of City College of New York for HARVARD ON HUDSON
  • Harper Alexander of University of North Carolina School of the Arts for STARLIGHT
  • Jackson Eagan of Ithaca College, Roy H. Park School of Communications for DOOR TO DOOR
  • Jeanpaul Isaacs of Rutgers University for ACROSS DYSTOPIA
  • Mike Reyes of Art Center College of Design for HERO SANDWICH
  • Arden Tse of Loyola Marymount University for THE IMPERFECT METHOD

In the Graduate category:

  • Matthew Edwards of University of Southern California for VICIOUS
  • Wesley Hunt of American University for AMONG THE LOST
  • Guy Pooles of the American Film Institute for DIRTY LAUNDRY
  • Doug Potts of Chapman University for ANDRE FOSTER

And in the Documentary category:

  • Matthew Blake of Chapman University for FOREST KEEPERS
  • Benjamin Mullinkosson of Chapman University with THE PINK HELMET POSSE

The ASC Student Heritage Awards were established to inspire the next generation of cinematographers and to help them pursue their dreams. It is re-named annually in celebration and memory of an extraordinary ASC member. This year's Heritage Award is dedicated to the memory Linwood Dunn, ASC. Twice elected ASC president, Dunn was also a governor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in two different branches, and was instrumental in the formation of the Academy's Visual Effects branch. His many accolades include an Oscar® for visual effects in 1949 for the original Mighty Joe Young, the Academy's prestigious Gordon E. Sawyer Award, and the ASC Presidents Award. Always keenly interested in technology, Dunn was an inventor at heart and a true filmmaking pioneer; his innovations include the first zoom lens and the first optical printer. At age 93, he was involved in the development of digital projection. The Linwood Dunn Theater in Hollywood was named for his contributions to the motion picture industry.

To reach this stage, eligible students must be in undergraduate or graduate school or have graduated within the past year. A dedicated jury of ASC cinematographers carefully views all entries and their voting determines the nominees.

For additional information about the ASC, visit www.theasc.com, or join them on Facebook.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


Forum Sponsors

Abel Cine

Tai Audio

New Pro Video - New and Used Equipment

Gamma Ray Digital Inc

Broadcast Solutions Inc

Visual Products

Film Gears

Wooden Camera

Metropolis Post


Serious Gear

VidGear.com - Broadcast Video Warehouse

FJS International


Cinematography Books and Gear

  • Create New...