35mm camera for stop motion?

schnozzle

Hi all--

I'm an animator, and while I usually work on the computer I've recently hauled out my old H-16 for some film work, which has been very gratifying.

I've thought of shooting animation on a rented 35mm camera from time to time but rental packages here in Los Angeles can be quite expensive, so I'm satisfied to go back to my Bolex for stop-motion/animation work. I've noticed recently, though, that there are a couple of used 35mm models that pop up on Ebay and the like now and then--specifically the Eyemo and the Konvas--that are well within my purchasing range. My question is, though: are either of these models adaptable to single-frame work? Is anyone aware of a single-frame motor designed for them? Has anybody tried this?

My other option for buying a 35mm for single-frame appears to be the Bell & Howell 2709, which I frequently see cited as an animation workhorse because of the accuracy/stability of the film movement. It is a hand-cranked silent camera, though, so I presume some sort of additional motor is involved. These cameras appear to hover about in the $3-4,000 range which, while certainly not cheap to me, is still less than an Oxberry. Does anyone have any experience with this camera? I'd be grateful to hear about other alternatives, too.

Thanks very much!

Both the old Bell & Howell and various model Mitchell cameras have been adapted to single frame use. They have excellent movements and are highly suited for this type of work. Fries Engineering makes animation motors for these cameras. I would contact Martin Hill Enterprises about purchasing a camera. He has more Mitchell's than anyone on the planet and should be able to set you up nicely.