Panasonic DVX100A vs. SDX900

Guest Matth483

Guest Matth483

Hello,

I am a production manager for a film/video production house. We own our own DVX100A but for higher-end work we often shoot on the SDX900. We have a job in house now that falls right in between the cost of these two cameras - so what I'm trying to find out is how the resolutions of these cameras compare to each other in their various shooting modes. Let me state further that I'm somewhat of a novice when it comes to cameras and lenses - so please bear with me.

1) I know the DVX100A has 410,000 pixels, and the 900 520,000. Does this mean that, at base, the 900 has approximately 25% more resolution?

But: 1a) The DVX100A has a 1/3" chip; the SDX900 a 2/3" chip. Would that mean the SDX is twice as good?

2) How much resolution does the DVX100A have in Letterbox mode? In Squeeze mode? With the anamorphic adaptor?

3) How much resolution does the SDX900 have in 16x9 mode? In 4x3 mode?

4) Is 'pixels' the appropriate way to measure resolution? Or should I be measuring the vertical vs. horizontal lines?

Any help that anyone could offer would be greatly appreciated; all Panasonic seems to be able to tell me is that the SDX900 offers a better image - which I already knew. Essentially I need to be able to tell my director how much better that image is in a mathematical sense.

I thank you in advance!!

--Matt