Film school shorts

Tom Banks

I am a freshman at Chapman in Orange, CA. I put up a page on my website with some of the projects I have done for a class called Visual Storytelling. Except for one of the shorts, dialogue is not allowed.. hence "visual" so we must find ways to convey the story. All of the shorts are shot by myself, most of them written and directed by myself too. But cinematography is my primary focus. I could definently use feedback on my shots and anything else. Thanks!

Film School Shorts

Are you seriously a freshman? Wow. I watched "The Pursuit." As an exercise, the coverage and shot choices all looked appropriate and motivated, and the edits felt in the right places to me. Overall, I thought it was very good, especially because most of those things take more experience to learn. Visually, the only thing I would've changed is that the ext post office shots were in shadow and would've looked better at a different time of day.

One note, the compression is really bad; you should reduce the frame size or increase the data rate.

Nice job!

I agree with you on the post office shots. I believe we shot that in the morning (the only time we had availible to shoot) and although the exteriors didn't bother me as much, the inside light doesn't match up at all. Flourescents probably would've looked more realistic, but there was a 10 min. window when the sunlight streamed in to the mail room at my dorm. It looks a little too dramatic but Oh well!

Thanks for the feedback. I'm a freshman, but I've done a lot before college (everything else on the website)

I think I'll put up a better quality compression.