What Are Your Thoughts On the Beaulieu R-16 ?

Guest Terry Lasater

Guest Terry Lasater

I recently purchased a Beaulieu R-16 in mint condition with an Angeniux 12-120mm manual zoom lens from someone on eBay for $600. I've seen a lot of good condition used cameras before, but this one looks like it was kept in a box inside a safe since the day it was purchased. Absolutely no marring, etc. on lens or body.

I realize there are many superior systems, but for the price it seems it could be a useful tool to add to the arsenal.

So, here's my question... What do you think about owning and/or using Beaulieu R-16 cameras?

Can they be converted for Super16? If so, where and how much?

thanks!

Terry Lasater

Hi Terry I've got an R16 - I'm not an expert but I think they're an okay camera - they are loud though - which is the only real problem I've found with them. The 100ft daylight spools run pretty short so I'd advise you to get a magazine or two - they often spring up on eBay - the 200ft spools are hard to come by though. As I understand it the Super 16 conversion can be done but is problematic I think the lense needs recentring and the viewfinder isn't wide enough -- ultra 16 might be a possibility though and is something I'm going to look into with mine. I started a forum for R16's a while ago - you'll find lots of info there

Beaulieu R16 Forum

Also if you have the three turret model you won't be able to use the zoom with it - it's too heavy and the turret slowly bends forward (minutely though I guess) but enough to create imaging problems

Scot

It seems to me if you want a S16 camera, buy one designed for it or at least get something that has resources for such conversions.

I've only used on a couple of occaisions and it never had a strong appeal, but I recently learned that Chris ("La Jetee") Marker's "Sans Soleil" which is one of the 15 films in my all time top 10 ;) was shot with a Beaulieu R-16 so in that spirit, go out and do some cool work with it !

-Sam