Cinematography and Visual Effects

jadoo

I am a visual effect artist. I want to know more about cinematography, how usefull its it in terms of visual effect, How to get more info about film stock, lense,lighting, framing and so.

What are the things u require if u supervise a shoot say so for chroma or for wireremoval. What are the things to be taken care.

thanks

The thing I'm most concerned about is, in no particular order, First, edges. So I generally want to shoot as fine a grain as I can and shoot it so that I don't burn off the fine grain. Kodak used to make a special effect film, a 200T but now the Vision films seem to work as well. (haven't shot the 5218 on a composite yet, but I'm dying to)

Secondly I want the chromakeyed area (usually a screen) to be as evenly lit as possible so my compositer can key with as tight a noche as possible. (I don't do wire removal shots thus far). The third consideration is to know what is the post production tool that I'm going into, in other words what programs do you, the SFX guy, have to do the compositing with? Fourth, I want to keep the key color off and out of the shot. i.e. Don't let the actor wear a shirt with any green in it if it's a green screen. Or put the screen too close and get spill from the screen on everything. Seems like common sense but, well, there it is.