Filters

Cole Webley

Tomorrow I am going to be shooting some 2nd Unit work on a short I did recently on S16, I am exploring with some filters I have never used before and I was wondering if someone could help me out with some questions I have.

I have tried to find out on Tiffen's website how much stop you lose with some of their filters--but I am at somewhat of a lost. I am wanting to know what your exposure change is for the following filters: Blue 1 SG, Blue 2 SG, Blue 3 SG, Sunset 2 SG, Sunset 3 SG, Coral 5 SG, Cyan 5 SG...since these are grad filters I realize the only stop I am loosing is in the upper part of the frame (supposing that is how I am going to use them) but does anyone know how much? This still applies even though they are color filters right?

Thanks guys.

• Premium Member

Look on the filters themselves and see if a filter factor is printed on the edge or on

the ring. I'm not familiar with any of these filters so I don't know if you are using sq-

are drop in filters(for filter holder,shade etc.) or screw on filters. Tiffen has a great

website where you can find a lot of useful information. I'm going to website and take

a look. If I was doing stills I would just bracket and I don't even think about a factor.

I am a student cinematographer but long time professional photographer. I know where

most of my filters shoot and I'm just natrurally used to them. You lose light due to reflec-

ion. I would just normally bracket up a little and down a little when shooting stills. Some-

times I can get a creative effect. If I'm shooting digital I can see right away what I'm get-

ting and often times will also vary W/B to be creative.

Greg Gross

• Premium Member