HDV editing on the pc

Tim Myers

Hey guys, I've been shooting DV with a Sony vx2100 for four years now, and she's served me well. My computer (PC) has taken everything the 2100 could give and edited like a champ. However, I'm ready to make the jump to HDV, and seriously considering the Canon XL-H1. My plan is to soup up my PC so that it can edit HDV without even breaking a sweat, and I'd like to do this before even purchasing the camera.

So, my budget is about 3,000 bucks, give or take a hundred here or there. I see a lot of really knowledgable people on these boards, and I'd love to hear all of your advice. What kinds of specs should I pursue? What would make the ultimate HDV editing beast? Can I stick with AMD? I hear they have something coming out pretty soon that will rival Intel... Any truth there? Thanks for any help you guys can offer!

Oh yeah, and just in case any trolls are reading this (there aren't many on these boards but I've enountered a few), I -have- already looked around to see if this has been answered before, and yes, I am doing my own research. This is just a part of it. So there, no need to get all troll-ey with me!

Thanks again!

- Tim

• Premium Member

Hi,

Any of the modern dual-core systems will do it. The thing with HDV is that you really want to be handling it uncompressed in post, and with an XLH1 you could consider doing uncompressed recording if you were willing to splurge on the capture card. I'm not sure it'd feasible to go quite that far inside your budget, though.